Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.


The FEATI Aviation Awards 2017: A Celebration and Fellowship Honoring Exemplary Achievements

It was an evening for the young and accomplished students of FEATI University’s Aeronautical Engineering and Aircraft Maintenance Technology programs.

It was a night dedicated to seasoned pilots and engineers whose achievements many can only dream of having since the University opened a flying school for men and women in 1946.

It was a moment to recognize industry partners who continue to stand shoulder to shoulder with FEATI University and its Aeronautical Engineering and Aircraft Maintenance Technology programs. January 27, 2017, at the Banquet Hall of the Golden Bay Restaurant, Diosdado Macapagal Boulevard, Pasay City, Manila, Philippines, the venue for FEATI University’s inaugural annual event, the FEATI Aviation Awards 2017. This formal affair was attended by FEATI CEO and Vice-Chairman Francisco A. Segovia, FEATI University President Dr.-Ing. Adolfo Jesus R. Gopez, CAAP Director-General Captain Jim C. Sydiongco, University officials, corporate staff, faculty members, students, awardees, and of course, families of the awardees. In his Keynote Speech Captain Sydiongco recalled that FEATI University opened the first post war flying school in the Philippines soon after the war. Then Philippine Airlines partnered with FEATI University to make it into the PAL FEATI Flying School.

Recognized as valuable industry partners with the FEATI AVIATION INDUSTRY PARTNER AWARD were Air Ads, Philippine Air Force, Aviation Partnership Philippines, Pacific Global One Aviation, Inc., Island Aviation Inc., Lionair, PAL, Alpha Aviation Group, Cebu Pacific, SEAIR International, Miascor Ground Handling Corporation, Philippine Aerospace Development Corporation, Royal Star Aviation Maintenance and Services, Inc., OMNI Aviation, SIA Engineering (Philippines) Corporation, PAL Express, Lufthansa Technik Philippines, and Nordisk Aviation Services Philippines Corporation. Asian Air Safari was given the FEATI INSTITUTIONAL AWARD for providing scholarships and information dissemination in the field of aviation.

The individual awardees, vetted via a rigid selection process were: Engineer Jay Guzman (YOUNG FEATI AVIATION PROFESSIONAL AWARD); General Edgar C. Calvo (FEATI AVIATION PROFESSIONAL AWARD); Engineers Amando Villao and Juanito dela Cruz (FEATI AVIATION ALUMNI AWARD); Engineer Timoteo Cordova and 93 year old Captain Orlando Africa (FEATI AVIATION LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD); Engineer Emilio Asiddao (posthumous recipient who lived until 92, FEATI.LIFE MODEL AWARD inscribed in the FEATI HALL OF FAME).

For passing the Aeronautical Engineering Board Examination in 2016 on their first attempt the BATCH ACHIEVERS Award was given to Jared C. Boqueo, Karl R. Hermogenes, Carlo Jae T. Rillera, Eric Paul D. Santos, Julius Albert S. Tutor, and Mark Arnie V. Vigilia.

Aircraft Maintenance Technology third year student Jayson Neusted J. Mercaida was recognized as a MODEL STUDENT for his dedication to academic excellence and scholarship as a working student. The RED HAT AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE was given to the students with the highest GWA in their year level. The Red Hat awardees for 2016 were Aircraft Maintenance Technology students Jeanne Rem B. Nadao (2nd year), Meek G. Pangilinan (3rd year), and Rafael Oliver L. Mendoza (4th year); and, Aeronautical Engineering students James Angelo M. Santiago (2nd year), Revor E. Velasquez (3rd year), and Paul Christian T. Devera (5th year).

FEATI President Dr.-Ing. Adolfo Jesus R. Gopez set the tone of the affair with his opening remarks and introduced the Guest of Honor and Speaker CAAP Director-General Sydiongco. FEATI CEO and Vice-Chairman Francisco A. Segovia and Dr. Gopez gave Director Sydiongco a certificate of appreciation for the efforts of CAAP in keeping the Philippines on the world aviation map. They were on stage to congratulate and hand out the plaques and tokens to the institutional and professional awardees. Mr. Segovia gave the closing remarks, but not before asking Engr. Jerry Assidao, the son of the late Hall of Famer Emilio Assidao to share some of his father’s legacy as the first Chairman of the Aeronautical Engineering Department of the University.

Being the inaugural event, FEATI Aviation Awards 2017 will surely be followed by annual events to honor the best and brightest of FEATI University’s aviation programs, being a pioneer in the field since the founding of the University in 1946. (AMD)


Back to top